Cupe Ontario H&S

Occupational Health and Safety Committee

The Health and Safety Committee includes a member from the division executive and one member elected from each occupational group.

We are proud to say our very own executive member Don Postar sits on this committee

The committee works to promote a healthy and safe work environment for all CUPE members in Ontario. It focuses much of its efforts on campaigns for better health and safety legislation in the province. It also supports locals looking to improve the health and safety provisions of their collective agreements, and supports education efforts designed to ensure that CUPE members are best able to defend their rights to healthy and safe workplaces.

In Fall 2007, the committee has launched a province-wide anti-violence campaign to educate members that violence is not part of the job. The campaign calls on the provincial government to introduce a Violence Regulation as part of the province’s Health and Safety Act.

2014 Health and Safety/Injured Workers Advocacy Committees Conference Details

Committee Membership Information:

Name Position Email
Andrea Madden Executive Board-appointed co-Chair
Kelly Walker Elected co-chair HCWCC Representative
Don Postar OSBCC Representative
Lisa Marion OMECC Representative
Spencer Jones OUWCC Representative
Tammy Van Dyk SSWCC Representative
Andréane Chénier National Health and Safety Specialist